freedom or security?

“Oh, they’re very insecure.”

We often hear people say this as if it’s a bad thing. But then the opposite of insecure is secure, but is that a good thing? People in prison are secure but they are not free. They may be very safe in their cell but they’re not free. Jesus did not die to make us secure but to make us free: “It’s is for freedom that Christ has set us free” (Gal 5:1).

We can find security in so many things: In people; in what we do; in who we are. I think I’ve spent a lot of my life trying to be secure in myself but therein lies the problem. I know me so how can I make myself safe? I’m onto a loser there. I know how pathetic I am and how I never measure up. Why would that make me secure?

Only in Christ can we find security. But God operates an upside down kingdom so instead of security he gives us freedom. Free to fly, free to soar, free to be. True freedom means no bricks, bars or locks. Yet we are completely safe in this freedom as He watches over us and doesn’t let one bird fall to the ground.

Leave a Reply

