Let me explain

This blog is entitled “it’s not about me” which is somewhat ironic I must admit as inevitably some of what I write about on here will be about that very subject – me. But let me explain.

It’s not about me isn’t so much a title for a blog as it is my philosophy on life. When I was 15 years old I remember saying to my best friend, who happens to be God, “Don’t let my life just be about me. Let other people look at me and learn something. Let whatever I go through and whatever mistakes I make serve as a lesson to others as either what to do or not to.”

Since then that belief has helped me make it through some pretty tough things. Because no matter how crazy things became I had the notion in the back of my mind that I couldn’t give up. A voice kept ringing in my ear, “you can’t quit there are people who are relying on you. You can’t let them down.”  This voice brought comfort when I messed up. It whispered, “it’s ok. So you blew it. Learn from your mistake and show the people coming after you how not to screw up the way you did.”  This voice brought perspective when the good times rolled. It would’ve yelled in my ear “don’t be getting too carried away with yourself thinking you’re brilliant. This isn’t just so you can feel wonderful and bask in the glow of your awesomeness. Make this about more than you. How can the people around you benefit from this?”  This voice whispered hope in the midst of despair. When I felt I had hit a dead end and there was no way out this voice spoke gently and reassuringly,  “you can be free. You can be loved. You can be accepted. Not just because you have been made worthy of all these things and more besides. But because the person next to you needs to know that they are worthy also and maybe you’re the one to tell them. Maybe they’ll look at you and say ‘if she can be free I can be free.'”

Hence this blog. I haven’t started it in order to showcase my incredible writing capability or to impress you with my vast biblical and theological knowledge. It’s simply a way to get out what’s inside me because I don’t have a right to hold on to it. What exactly will this blog contain?? I have no idea. This is going to be as much of a surprise for me as it is for you. So read on and let’s go on this journey together…

Leave a Reply

