so…i’m writing a book.

It started out as a feeling
Which then grew into a hope
Which then turned into a quiet thought
Which then turned into a quiet word

And then that word grew louder and louder
‘Til it was a battle cry

(The Call: Regina Spektor)

It started quietly, oh so quietly.  So quietly that it couldn’t be God.  I mean, He sends armies of angels, sets bushes on fire, writes on walls.  He doesn’t whisper….

But then there is that verse that speaks of a ‘still small voice.’  Oooops.  I forgot about that.  Maybe this is God.

I’m not 100% sure but I decided not to let it go and now this thing won’t let go of me.  Honestly it keeps me awake at night, I get so excited.  I’ve never felt this way before.

I also have to mention that I’ve never been this scared before.  By committing to this I could end up looking really stupid if it doesn’t work out, but God has a habit of doing that to people (Abraham, Moses, Gideon. See The Bible for more info).

But I have a ‘battle cry’ and I can’t shut up.  “What is that battle cry?” I hear you ask.  I’m shouting out to single women who feel like they’re on the shelf to fill their shelves with worship, friendship and purpose.  Why? Because God shouted that to me.  To stop huffing and moaning and use this special season in my life for His purpose.  So this book is my purpose.  My dream is to bring a little encouragement to women who battle with loneliness and the feeling that life is passing them by as they watch the rest of the world split off into groups of two.

It’s early days and I haven’t a clue what I’m doing.  But I do have the One who called me to do it in the first place.

And hopefully after reading this, I’ll have you too.  Please pray for me as I do this.  This is the hardest thing I’ve ever done… and I’ve barely started.

7 thoughts on “so…i’m writing a book.

Leave a Reply

