make it count

Recently I’ve started praying at the start of every day, “Lord, help me make today count.”

I guess it was born out of a frustration that there were a lot of evenings when I lay my head on the pillow and didn’t really see any real purpose to my day. I didn’t feel that I had done anything of real significance, where I could say, “That was the reason I got up this morning.” I don’t believe God wants us to live like that. Eph 2:10 says: “We are His workmanship, recreated in Christ Jesus for good works which He has prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.” I want to walk in those works. If He has gone to the bother of preparing them then I should be doing my best to walk in them.

Making it count doesn’t have to be a pressured thing. It’s just an awareness that there is purpose in everything that demands our everything. Ideally we should make every single moment of our days count but life is life and we are human so that’s not gonna happen. Not to me anyway.

I’m starting small. So even if it’s something like a five minute conversation where I can encourage my friend. I made it count. If it’s being focused at work and doing everything on my to-do list. I made it count. Even if it’s getting my house in order – dealing with mail, housework, blah blah blah. I made it count. If its reading my bible and knowing that I connected with God. I made it count. If its taking the time when I’m hungry and want my dinner and writing this blog for you to read. I made it count.

Are you with me? Will you make it count?

Leave a Reply

