The Shepherd’s Way

This time off has allowed me to see how much of a social person I am and also how ADD I am i.e. I can’t really focus on one thing for a long period of time, I prefer to do short tasks in short bursts of time over and over again. Yet God has given me this gifting of writing and these things seem to be in conflict as writers tend to be quiet, solitary, focused people – everything I am not!! Yet I know that God doesn’t make mistakes.

Then I realized that God has it this way because, never again, does he want me to be defined by my gifting and what I do. He wants who I am to define what I do and how I do it.

I think up until now I have tried to write the way I think a ‘writer’ should write and that has felt uncomfortable. A bit like David wearing Saul’s armour when he was going to fight Goliath – it just didn’t feel right. But that didn’t mean he was the wrong person to defeat Goliath – it just meant he had to fight Goliath his way – the shepherd’s way instead of the soldier’s way.

I have to start writing my way, I’m not quite sure what that is yet but I’ll find it.

Leave a Reply

