“The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places” Psa 16:6 (part 2)

So here is the second part of my pondering on this verse.  Read the first part here.

I believe boundaries are drawn by God and they are lines that he wants us to live inside in order to keep us safe.  When you have children you have certain areas of your house or kitchen where you forbid them to go as you know they don’t have the knowledge and wisdom to act there and they will more than likely be hurt if they go there.  So it is with God. He is our Father and he knows us intimately and he places lines around us in order to keep us safe.

The trouble is we are stupid and stubborn – not a good combination!  So we cross the lines, get ourselves in a mess, then blame the devil, when all along it was our lack of wisdom that got us there.

Wisdom is not just a spiritual thing.  Its practical.  Its what gets you through the day.  Its like a sat nav that takes you where you need to go step by step.  Though if you’re anything like me you’ll go the way you know until you get lost then rely on the sat nav.  That’s how we treat wisdom.  We go our own way, then end up in a mess then revert to the plan we should have followed all along.

So what are some of these boundaries?  If we look at the life of Jesus we see that even he had boundaries – different areas of his life in which he needed to grow and develop.  There is a verse that says “Jesus grew in wisdom in stature and in favour with god and man..”  Here I see that he grew in 4 very distinct areas.

Wisdom – mentally and emotionally

Stature – physically

Favour with God – spiritually

Favour with man – relationally

Each of our lives consists of these four areas and we must actively seek to develop each one of them.

It is unhealthy for our lives to be about just one thing.  If we put all our eggs into one basket what happens if we drop the basket?

That’s why we have boundaries.  Boundaries allow us to say no.  it’s funny – we feel guilty when we say no to someone but it’s just one way we stay on the healthy side of our boundaries.

I have been in the position where my life was all about one thing – and it was a good thing.  But it ended up being a bad thing and my lack of wisdom almost wrecked me.  So now I ensure that I make my life about lots of things – God, friends, family, fun, purpose, rest – you get the picture.  Since I set these boundaries in place I have become a happier, healthier person who is able to serve God and the people around me more effectively.  I suppose you could say that by saying no I am more able to say yes.

 

How good are you at drawing boundaries and staying inside them?  What are  the areas in your life where you need more boundaries?

3 thoughts on ““The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places” Psa 16:6 (part 2)

  1. Hey thanks for your input on boundaries. I read it but couldnt help but feel frustrated. Presently im going through a domestic case in court against my wife…its a real shame that it has occurred and that she would actually call the police on me being we are both born again believers but it happened due to my lack of boundaries in many areas and I find that even if I tried to set boundaries I have lived from childhood with no healthy boundaries and now I see I cant even hold myself to any. I sure wish I had more time and space to explain but perhaps you might hold me up in earnest prayer as well as my wife and our present seperation? That would be so appreciated.

Leave a Reply

