Rise

Why do I keep falling?
I think I’m doing really well
Then
Smack
My face hits the dirt

All within me wants to lie there
Wallow in the shame
The guilt
The confusion of why it happened

But a voice stirs me to rise

“Shake off the dust
Don’t insist on wondering why you fell
Just be determined to rise
Because the longer you lie
The more ground you give your enemy
And he doesn’t deserve and inch

He may be able to trip you up
But he cannot keep you down

Defeat is not falling
Defeat is lying down”

I hear his voice and my own voice declares,
‘Do not rejoice over me, my enemy;
When I fall, I will arise’ (micah 7:8)

Leave a Reply

