The Beauty of Today

An artist comes to the canvas with a big picture in mind.  He knows where he wants to go and how he wants to end up.  The big picture is always in his mind.  But he has to learn to appreciate the beauty of each brush stroke.  Where it is placed in relation to the other strokes.  The light and shade.

In the bigger picture of my life I lose the beauty of each stroke.  I’m so focused on the end product – the 5 year, 10 year plan, that I lose the beauty of today.  The value of the moment I am living in right now.  I have to stop wanting it to be the future and realise that “this is the day that the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it” (Psa 118:4).

Leave a Reply

