So…I’m still writing a book.

In March 2010 I told you that I had started writing a book. Read about it here. Now in July 2011 I’m still writing the same book. Yes, I know, I’m taking my time. But that’s because God is taking his time with me. At the beginning of this book-writing project I said to God that I wanted the book to come from the inside out. In other words I didn’t want to write about truth that hadn’t first set me free. Little did I know then but I was giving him permission to lift the lid on a lot of stuff in my own life that needed to be dealt with. This has made for a longer writing process but a truer end product. Max Lucado once wrote, “You’ll never write better than you live.” Let’s just say I’m living a lot better than I was 18 months ago. God has been so gracious and patient with me as I have been on this freedom journey with him by my side.

 

I am by no means perfect but I do feel an urgency to really focus on the book from here on in and see it through. So I am writing this post today to make myself accountable to you and to say that – (deep breath) – if all goes well, I aim to have the main writing of the book completed by Christmas. Then hopefully in the New Year I’ll be able to start the process of editing/publishing.

 

Why am I telling you this??? Because you take the time to come on to this blog and read the random words I write. It’s not a pride thing but it means a lot to me to know that people read my little corner of the interweb. The stuff I write here has come from a lot of wandering and wondering and to know people are benefiting from the battles I’ve fought, won and lost helps me make a little more sense of my life.

 

Also, I’m telling you this in order to make myself accountable. It can be hard to be disciplined if there’s no one standing over you expecting anything. So, please, stand over me. If you see me, ask me how it’s going. Email me, Facebook me, Tweet me, whatever me. Keep me on my toes. As a reward I will post snippets of the book on this blog for your eyes only.

 

Lastly. Pray for me. Pray that I would be disciplined and focused as I write. Pray that I would have the wisdom to say no to other things when I need to. Writing is a lonely process and anyone who knows me will know I am very much a people person who loves being in the thick of it. Pray for grace during those days what it’s just me and my laptop. Finally pray for strength to see this through. Physically I really battle with tiredness and when energy levels are low so is my concentration and that makes for a difficult writing process. But also pray for emotional strength. I am baring my soul in this book. Pray I’ll have the guts to nail my colours to the mast.

 

Thankyou for taking the time to read this post. Thankyou for being with me on this journey. I couldn’t do it without you.

2 thoughts on “So…I’m still writing a book.

Leave a Reply

