The Ultimate Personal Assistant

1Jo 2:20
But you have been anointed by the Holy One, and you all have knowledge.

1Jo 2:27
But the anointing that you received from him abides in you, and you have no need that anyone should teach you. But as his anointing teaches you about everything, and is true, and is no lie—just as it has taught you, abide in him.

2Co 1:21-22
And it is God who establishes us with you in Christ, and has anointed us, and who has also put his seal on us and given us his Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee.

Where would we be without the Holy Spirit and His anointing? There is some misunderstanding regarding the anointing and there has been some bad press. Usually when the anointing is mentioned people give a little giggle and the words ‘spooky’ and ‘weird’ find their way into the conversation. However the Greek word for the Holy Spirit is ‘parakletos’ which means ‘One Who comes alongside’. Jesus Himself called the Holy Spirit the ‘Helper’ (John 16:7). What’s spooky about that? I don’t know about you, but I need all the help I can get!

If you want to live the life God is calling you to live you will need the help of the Holy Spirit – you will not accomplish anything significant without Him. Over the past year I have really struggled in my job. About 18 months ago systems were changed and I was completely overwhelmed. So much so that I had to go off work due to stress and anxiety. During my time off God really spoke to me about inviting the Holy Spirit to be my Helper. I took this on board and every morning I invited the Holy Spirit to come to work with me and be my Helper. Every task that was thrown at me I prayed silently, “Holy Spirit – help me with this. Give me wisdom, confidence, strength.” Whatever I needed at that particular time that’s what I asked for. One year on, the turnaround has been amazing. I am enjoying my job. I am good at my job! There was no way I could say that a year ago!

This same anointing is yours! Embrace it! Whatever is on your to-do list invite the Holy Spirit to help you accomplish each task. Whether it’s your job, studies, looking after your family, serving in church, whatever. He is your ultimate Personal Assistant!

Leave a Reply

