Truths from my Sat Nav – part 3

Here is the third instalment of lessons I have learnt from my trusty friend Sally the Sat Nav. If you missed the first two, look here and here.

  • Continue on this road until further instruction

I’m going to be honest here and say that this is the instruction I hate the most.  I know I’m heading toward the right destination and I’m on the right road to get me there – but I want to know what’s next. I’m a ‘what’s next?’ kinda woman.

Apart from my relationship with God the most important thing in my life is fulfilling His purpose for my life. I always have to feel I’m living on purpose. I hate the sense of wandering aimlessly through life. I’ve been put on this planet at this time for a purpose and I want to fulfil it, so I’m constantly asking, “what’s next?”

When God tells me to “stay on this road until further instruction” I really struggle. Perhaps, though, it’s not the lack of instruction thats the problem. Its the fact that it’s “this road”.

I find myself saying, “Really, Lord? This road?

This is a hard road. It’s a mundane road. The scenery isn’t great. It feels so far away from where I want to be.

This road?

This job?

This home?

This bank balance?

This doctor’s report?”

God replies and says, “Yes. This road. I know it’s long and hard but if you stay on it it will be the road that takes you the greatest distance to your destination. What you learn on this road will enable you to be the person you need to be when you arrive.”

So what do we learn on this road? We learn to just keep on driving! We learn faithfulness and patience. We learn the art of work that makes us into a work of art created by the Master. We learn to be thankful for each day that we are able to walk this road because many are denied the same privilege. We learn to appreciate the beauty of each small step. We learn to trust in the last thing God told us without having to know the next thing. We learn to rest in His promise. 

Go to Amazon and check out my ebook entitled, “The Woman on the Shelf

2 thoughts on “Truths from my Sat Nav – part 3

Leave a Reply

